Green man spotters might like to look out for the Greenman in Trafalgar Square on the 24th April when The Lions Part celebrate St George’s day. The Greenman in his spring manifestation will be born out of the dragon. There will be six performances from midday until 6pm.
Kew gardens main gate (off Kew Green) boasts four green men. The gates were designed by Decimus Burton in 1845 and completed in April the next year. The central double gates were made for carriages, and are flanked by two single gates for pedestrians. The elaborate wrought iron work is in Jacobean style. The Main Gate is one of four of Kew’s gates that are Grade II listed. The other three were all built during the second half of the 19th century. The Lion Gate and Lodge, and the Victoria Gate are still used as public entrances, but the Unicorn Gate in Kew Road is used only by staff.